Studio Inspiration: Brushstrokes

After a meeting last week about a possible collaboration I left with my head spinning with design ideas.  One thing that keeps grabbing my attention is the painterly brushstroke style that has been popping up in home decor. It is something that I would love to experiment with.  Looks like I am dusting off my old art school paints and paintbrushes!

I’ve been a fan of Nicole Cohen‘s abstract art of the blog Sketch42 abstract artwork. Even Kelly Wearstler is jumping on the painterly bandwagon with her Stripes Scarf. I’m a huge fan of “Bamboozle” from Jim Thompson No.9 Thompson. Pink and orange? Yes please! And of course pattern maven DVF can do no wrong with her DVF brushstroke plates.

What do you think? Are you liking the trend of adding painterly aspects to home decor?

 

 

Leave a Reply

