Happy 75th Birthday Lucite!

Every designer will tell you: Just one piece of clear acrylic furniture will shake up any room in any style. It’s the one-piece makeover…

– Orli Ben-Dor (House Beautiful

The Famed Domino Magazine lucite table from This Paris Apartment

Did you know that this year is Lucite’s 75th Birthday? Its true! Core77 says:

First brought to market as Plexiglas in 1933, the synthetic polymer will turn 75 in just a few months. To celebrate, Lucite International and Material ConneXion are holding a Lucite exhibition in NYC this Spring.

Lucite will showcase the winning prototypes from its Carry Me! handbag design competition along with a rare collection of vintage handbags that inspired the competition. The exhibit will also include a series of current product applications, which demonstrate the versatility of Lucite® and its use in a wide range of industries — from architecture and furnishings to industrial design and retail merchandising.

I’ve been on a lucite kick recently. I’ve always liked the look but never owned any. It all started when I found a pair of lucite lamps at my local goodwill and my obsession of acquiring a lucite piece of furniture spun out of control.  I’ve been searching for the perfect coffee table and everything I was finding and liking seemed too big and visually heavy. I remembered seeing the CB2 Peekaboo nesting tables and I knew that I had to get them. I always check craigslist first before buying certain things full price and it just so happened that someone was selling their cb2 nesting tables that were only 3 months old and in perfect condition for a deal. Perfect! Of course I snagged them and they now live in my living room (see here)

I think that my lucite buying spree is over for the timebeing but I’m still on the lookout for inspiring interiors that incorporate it. I think that it should be used sparingly and can work with a variety of different furniture styles and textures.

Lucite + Fur? Yes Please! (image via Dirty Hems)

Image via Pinterest Source unknown 😦

In a more traditional setting Image via Pinterest Can anyone tell me who design this space? Would love to know!

Do you use Bloglovin? If so make sure to follow us! bloglovin

Leave a Reply

