Happy Almost New Year

(Photo: Domino Archives)

I am back from a Holiday Hiatus! I spent Christmas in Massachusetts with my family and then did some skiing in Northern New Hampshire but I am back in Brooklyn and ready for a new year! 2010 was great for me because it was right around this time a year ago where I decided to put what I had been dreaming about into action, starting my own design business! The first half of the year was a struggle with working fulltime and finding time to research manufacturers and really getting my head around everything.  When summer came around I finally visited where my soon to be debut wallpaper collection will be manufactured and all of a sudden it seemed real. I moved into my own apartment in July where I had a lot more room to focus on really starting to design the collection. While still working fulltime I  started working with my manufacturer in the fall and by December I was approving the first screens of my handprinted wallpaper collection. December was also the month where I started to look more seriously at my online presence and started to connect with a lot of great new people online and offline through my blog and twitter.

I really truly feel like 2011 is going to be a breakthrough year for me personally and professionally and holds much promise.  I have never felt so passionate and excited about what lies ahead with my business and building new relationships with future friends, clients, designers and readers like you!

My goals for 2011 include debuting my wallpaper collection during NY Design week in May. Working on a redesign of my website and debuting my e-commerce store. Working out the kinks of my blog technically and more regular blog posts getting a peak inside my head at what inspires me, and the ups and downs of starting my own business. Networking like a pro and building relationships.

2011 is going to be fabulous and I can not wait to ring in the new year.  What are your plans and goals?

Leave a Reply

