Blogs for Digs for Dwell with Dignity

I am very excited to be a part of Blog for Digs. Blog for Digs is a blogger fundraiser that was started by Claudia Clobes of StonehouseLove and Beth Dotolo of Hello, Splendor to benefit Dwell with Dignity.  The goal of the event is to raise funds and awareness for this fabulous non-profit. A bit more about Dwell with Dignity…

Dwell with Dignity is a non-profit group of Interior Designers and volunteers dedicated to creating soothing, inspiring homes for families struggling with homelessness and poverty. We provide and install home interiors for families that include furnishings and art, bedding and kitchen supplies, and food in the pantry. Our mission is to help families escape poverty and homelessness through design. One household at a time.

Please take a peek at some of Dwell with Dignity’s projects (and here!) that they have worked on and if you have the funds please consider donating to this great organization. I have chosen to make a donation this Christmas in memory of my mother who was a great advocate of letting me express myself in my childhood bedroom. All of those participating in the event were asked to blog about their childhood bedrooms and the one decor item they wished they had.

My childhood bedroom was always filled with books! I started to devour books at an early age and had two large bookshelves and most likely a stack of library books next to my bed at all times. I would always check out as many as I could at a time which I believe was 6. In the middle of my room was a hand-me-down queen sized bed from my grandmother that was much too large for a petite child like myself.  Above it my mother and I carefully placed glow in the dark stars on the ceiling following the constellation chart that came with the package until one night we decided to give up completely because it was too tedious. Those stickers stayed on my ceiling up until last Spring when my father finally sold the house. They had a good run! I also had a makeup vanity in my room that had belonged to my mother when she was little.  I wasn’t allowed to wear makeup until high school but I loved to sit in front of the mirror and brush my hair.

I loved my room and the one thing that I wanted (well besides a canopy bed, but isn’t that a given for every young girl?) was wallpaper and a comforter/shams/bedskirt that matched!

This may have been where my wallpaper obsession started, I’m not quite sure. I would often sleep over a friend from schools house and when her parents decided to redecorate her room I remember being green with envy of her Laura Ashley digs. If it were up to me my room might have ended up looking something like this… (my mom would have been down for the idea of sewing me a dress that matched, no joke)

Photo from Carolina Herrera: Portrait of a Fashion Icon

Or perhaps like a Laura Ashley store had exploded…

Photo via Vintage 123

Thankfully I am glad that my mother put her foot down somewhere! I am the last in my group but feel free to see who else is supporting this cause, here is the schedule!

Leave a Reply

